Since 2004, every year the Frankfurter Buchmesse awards a prize for Best International Literary Adaptation. Previous recipients include Todd Haynes (2015), Anton Corbijn (2014), Ziad Doueiri and his wife Joelle Touma (2013), Stephen Daldry (2012) and producer David Heyman (2011).

In 2016 the new category “Films for Children and Young Adults” was introduced and this year the category „Best Illustrated Book on Film“ will be awarded for the first time.

In selecting the films for ‘Best International Literary Adaptation‘ and ‚Best International Literary Adaptation for Children or Young Adults’, Juergen Boos, Director of the Frankfurter Buchmesse, consults with the advisory film, which was initiated in 2016 and currently consists of seven international film and media experts.


The members of the Frankfurter Buchmesse Advisory Board Film are:

Leo Barraclough, International Features Editor, Variety Magazine

Frederic Boyer, Artistic Director Tribeca Film Festival and Artistic Director Les Arcs European Film Festival

Beat Glur,  Spokesman Zurich Film Festival

Ellen Harrington, Director Deutsches Filminstitut & Filmmuseum

Ulrich Höcherl, Editor-in-Chief Blickpunkt:Film and Managing Director Blickpunkt:Film GmbH

Rajendra Roy, The Celeste Bartos Chief Curator of Film, Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)

Signe Zeilich-Jensen, Consultant Children and Family Film,  Netherlands Film Fund